2019 Avrupa Birliği Edebiyat Ödülü’nün Kazananları Açıklandı (english)


Winners of the 2019 European Union Prize for Literature revealed

Last night, Tibor Navracsics, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, and Romanian Culture Minister Valer-Daniel Breaz announced the 14 winners of this year’s European Union Prize for Literature. The Prize is awarded annually to new and emerging authors, recognising literary talent from all corners of Europe. It highlights the wealth of contemporary European literature as well as Europe’s rich cultural and linguistic heritage. This year’s 14 laureates are: Laura Fredenthaler (Austria), Piia Leino (Finland), Sophie Daull (France), Réka Mán-Várhegyi (Hungary), Beqa Adamashvili (Georgia), Nikos Chryssos (Greece), Jan Carson (Ireland), Giovanni Dozzini (Italy), Daina Opolskaite (Lithuania), Marta Dzido (Poland), Tatiana Țîbuleac (Romania), Ivana Dobrakovová (Slovakia), Halya Shyyan (Ukraine) and Melissa Harrison (United Kingdom). Launched by the European Commission in 2009 and supported by the Creative Europe programme, the European Union Prize for Literature is organised in partnership with the book sector. Commissioner Navracsics said: “The European Union Prize for Literature showcases the creativity and the diversity of European literature and recognises the importance of our book sector. Through the Prize and the Creative Europe programme, the European Commission helps authors, publishers, translators and booksellers bring quality and variety to readers in Europe and beyond. I warmly congratulate all this year’s winners.” The competition is open to the countries involved in Creative Europe. National juries comprised of publishers, booksellers, authors and critics select the winners from each of the participating countries. The winners will receive their awards at a ceremony hosted by Commissioner Navracsics in Brussels on 2 October.